Overdue

by Adam Popescu

I haven’t written on this blog in a long time. Neglected? Maybe. Overdue? Surely.

The fact is, real life has taken precedent. Paid posts versus pleasure. Billed hours versus personal time. Still, I come back. Here’s a slice of life. A creation that could have easily never made the page. A time suspended. A moment caught between others. A thought explored.

As I continue to change I will say this: The growth continues, morphing. To what end, I do not know. But I do know this: Each piece is a link in the chain, growing, connecting, moving, developing. Where will I be in time…where will we be? The unknown is both exciting and scary, no way to find out but to travel there. We’re all on a journey, constantly changing.

Enjoy the process, the elders say, hindsight being 20-20. Try, try, try. Do, do, do. Every day a step towards the future. Walk, then run. Run, then fly. Fly with me, high above. Look down. What do you see? Mistakes and victories, hopes and dreams. Friends, allies, enemies. Journeys and stories. All pieces in a greater puzzle.

As I prepare for my 28th year, I write as night becomes day, dark turns to light. Travel with me. Where are we going? What’s next? Ask yourself what you want and what you’re willing to do for it. That’s what’s next. The next step. The price you’re willing to pay is the fee for admission. Whatever you’re willing to do to get there. Is it worth it? Are you willing to sacrifice to get what you want? And if so, how much?

To get it, crossroads are traveled daily. Some easy, some hard. Keep moving, moving, moving. To where and what end? Destiny? Fate? Expectations? When is life ever what we expect? Almost never. When is it easy? When we least expect. Hard? Almost always. Victory sweeter than defeat, I write in a stream of consciousness, discovering thoughts as I go. To the next step, the next place. Come with me. Indulgent? Maybe a bit. Honest? Surely. Tired? To the bones. But keep moving. Keep pushing. One day it makes sense even if it isn’t what you expected. One day we get what we want. What we deserve. One day. Live for today but know another day is coming. Whatever’s next, it’s coming. Nothing to do but be ready. Sharpen up. Whatever’s inside, let it out and breathe a deep sigh of relief. Just let it out. Let it out. Let it out.

