Changing My Name…To My Name

by Adam Popescu

                                                                                                        Meta World Peace

After a long think and an online chat with my friend @nickcicero I changed my name…to my name..in the avatar, augmented reality that is Twitter.

In this age of digital branding, my only social media account that didn’t have my real name at this point was Twitter. I wouldn’t sign any of my other work with anything other than my full name–why should Twitter’s online version of me be any different?

Damn the API ramifications and the confused tweeters–it had to be done. After a few days of rattling it around upstairs, I pulled the trigger on July 5, the day Googles Twitter contract expired and they suspended the very useful real-time function.

@mcaption is no more. Long live @adampopescu.

