Father Time

by Adam Popescu

Well, here I sit, less than 24 hours until the new year. Half-way through graduate school, three-quarters of the way through a novel, and all in for journalism. This has been an intense year full of change.

I moved to a new place, started a new job, started a new school, made new friends. I don’t know what I would be doing right now had I not left LA. Lucky for me, Syracuse decided to roll the dice and I was given a chance at a master’s in magazine, newspaper and online journalism. The Newhouse School’s faculty of accomplished, forward thinking professionals have strengthened my understanding and respect for the craft of journalism.

Journalism is important because people are essentially interested in other people. We live in a 24 hour news obsessed world, and content is still king. Good, talented professionals will always be valued, because outlets need content to feed a hungry public.

It’s true, newspapers and magazines are folding, jobs are being cut. The old power structure is crumbling. The rules are changing. Today’s journalist has as good a chance at success on their own as they do in a corporate setting. This can be scary, but it can also be exciting. The internet is a great entrepreneurial setting for journalists. We live in a flattened globe where information is accessible like never before. People want to know what’s happening and journalists provide that information in an easy to access format, with the power to link readers on social media sites, delivering deeper stories with the aid of strong prose, embedded media and creative design.

There is no doubt that the internet and social media are essential tools for the future development of the medium. Once news outlets truly figure out how to get users to pay for content and how to get profitable ad revenue from the online side, I think we’ll see the industry turn into something like the early dot.com and real estate bubbles of the ’90s. Until then, it’s time to sharpen the sword and shine the armor.

In six months I graduate from Newhouse. I hope to live and work in Los Angeles, but I’m ready to go wherever a job takes me. I want to work for an online or print publication. If I have to live and work in the Virgin Islands for three to five years, on a beach, surrounded by beautiful women and coconuts…if I have to do that to make a living as a journalist, so be it!

—Adam Popescu

